Mobile vs. Computer

Do you use your mobile phone more than your computer?

You might not, but I bet it’s close.

If I were to add up the hours per week I spend on my Blackberry and I spend on my computer, I think my computer would win, but not by much. I keep my Blackberry with me at all times. I can’t go anywhere without it. I use it mostly for e-mail and I get plenty of it.

PC vs MobileI have three e-mail accounts on my Blackberry, one for school, for work and my personal account. The three of those keep my fingers moving constantly on the Blackberry. Add on text messaging, Blackberry Messenger and the mobile Web and you can see that I spend a lot of time using my mobile phone.

When I do work on my computer it is for longer periods of time than on my Blackberry. I use my Mac laptop the most. I start pretty early in the morning, before 6 a.m. and use it for most of the morning and into the afternoon. Then I switch to my work laptop in the afternoon and at night, before ending the evening back on my Mac.

So, as you can see, I use both my computer and my mobile phone quite a bit. As the future progresses, I think that I will continue to use my mobile phone more and more.

The reason why I don’t use my mobile phone more for the internet is because it is slow. If I had an iPhone I would use the mobile Web a lot more and I might change my answer and say I use my phone more than the computer.

Once mobile phones go the way of the iPhone and use wireless internet signal instead of cell phone signal, the mobile Web world will take off. I think that is when most will use their phones more than their computers. Our phone will then become mini computers which will be pretty awesome.

1 comment so far

  1. andersj on

    Good points, Alex. Have you seen the Pew Internet data that was released today about new media? http://www.pewinternet.org/Reports/2009/17-Twitter-and-Status-Updating-Fall-2009.aspx


Leave a Reply

