It’s getting down to crunch time

We have five days left before our OI Panama project deadline. We are now working almost around the clock to get our work completed.

It has been difficult for everyone in our group because we have so much work to get finished. We are all really motivated, but are getting a little worn down.

Every day we add content to the Web site and it looks fantastic, which makes me more and more excited to see the finished project and present it to Dayana and the Crystal Children Foundation.

I have enjoyed reading Dayana’s kind comments on this blog and I have passed them along to the rest of our group for added motivation. it is her determination and huge heart that keeps us fighting to build this Web site which will hopefully bring a lot of attention and help to their situation down in Panama.

Today, I am working on writing the stories for the Web site. I have to write about 12 stories total. We are writing three stories that focus on specific children with OI and their families called “Living with OI.” Then there are three stories about the medical treatment including, physical therapy, health care and standard treatment of the disease. Then we have a story about the foundation and one about Dayana and her daughter Angie.

As I read through the transcripts from our interviews last week I am reliving the sadness and struggles that these families go through on a daily basis. It is hard to imagine that. Even though I saw and experienced what they go through, I feel almost like I and we have abandoned them. We got to escape and come back to the United States. They don’t have that option. I guess the only thing we can do is help them through this Web site which I really think is going to open a lot of doors for them.

1 comment so far

  1. LuAnne Barker on

    I am a parent of a 15 yr old with OI in the Greensboro area. Don’t know if it would benefit you or Dayana (sp?) but here is link to the Osteogenesis Imperfecta Foundation (international organizaiton dealing with OI): http://www.oif.org. Would be interested in seeing your final product – though I don’t speak/read Spanish.


Leave a Reply

